The Reader Problems Tag

Hey! Because I’m new and jumping on every bandwagon I can, I saw this on Makayla’s blog (readersandmore) and thought I’d give it a go.

1) You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How do you decide what to read next?

So you’ve seen my TBR then.

I usually look at what I have in my TBR pile and figure out what I’m in the mood for. I’m a mood reader. Is that a thing?

2) You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

I did this with Tony Ballantyne’s Dream London, which had a great concept and some real originality but just went a bit too far for me, and I really wasn’t liking it but I didn’t quit because annoyingly I wanted to know what happened. (The answer is, though I finished it, I still don’t really know?)

3) The End of the Year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads Reading Challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

Why are you stalking my Goodreads?

I do try and catch up and usually by reading something quick and fun like Lumberjanes (hence issues 2#-13# a while back) or a short story collection, rather than rush through the rest of a full novel.

4) The covers of the series you love Do. Not. Match. How do you cope?

THE PAIN IS REAL.

I have this problem with my beloved copies of Harry Potter, because I somehow managed to lose my original edition of the Philosopher’s Stone and I’ve been checking our children’s section at Oxfam every week to see if it’s come in. I have the new and incredibly pretty white cover to tide me over but IT IS NOT THE SAME as having the book I originally read and made me love writing.

5) Everyone and their mother love a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I feel like this has happened, but I’m not sure what with. Possibly the Divergent series but I can’t say any of my friends really liked it either, I only read the first one. I usually bond with whoever’s read it!

6) You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Books don’t often make me cry so this would be a super special circumstance, but I would probably think about puppies. Or kittens. Baby animals.

7) A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads?

I would probably say ‘oh I should really re-read the book before I get the next one’ then buy it anyway and have lots of ‘Oh yeah, that happened!’ moments while reading.

8) You do not want anyone. ANYONE. Borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

People don’t ask to borrow my books a lot, I usually offer, but I’m quite chilled about people borrowing my books, as long as they’re still in good condition. Though it depends on the book – nobody is ever borrowing my copies of His Dark Materials or Harry Potter.

9) You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

That has been my month! Usually I end up re-reading something I love or starting a new book. This is why my TBR shelf is so full.

10) There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

YES THERE ARE.

At the moment not very many at all because it’s coming up to Christmas and I had quite a few on my Amazon wishlist so I’m looking forward to those. Although I am planning a shopping trip to one of my favourite independent bookstores, Page 45, over the weekend.

11) After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

It really depends on the book, if I’ve read the author before, what work I have on etc. If I get one I’m really excited about then I put down the one I was previously reading and pick the new one up.

Please let me know in the comments if you do this tag!

My Top Ten for Tuesday Best Books I Read in 2015 will be up later tonight!

3 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Tag

Leave a Reply

