What I’m Reading Wednesday

What Are You Reading Wednesday is hosted by It’s A Reading Thing!

How to participate:
Grab the book you are currently reading and answer three questions:
1. What’s the name of your current read?
2. Go to page 34 in your book or 34% in your eBook and share a couple of sentences.
3. Would you like to live in the world that exists within your book? Why or why not?

Ok so this is kind of cheating because I have technically just finished The Uncommon Reader, but I loved it so much that I wanted to use it for this week’s What I’m Reading.

  1. The Uncommon Reader, Alan Bennett
  2. ‘At Westminster she popped the offending book behind a cushion in the carriage ready for the journey back, mindful as she sat on the throne and embarked on her speech of how tedious was the twaddle she was called on to deliver and that this was actually the only occasion when she got to read aloud to the nation.’
  3. I would love to live in a world where the Queen gets obsessed with reading. Can you imagine the Queen’s Christmas speech?
  4. BONUS – This book is so full of great quotes about reading and readers, that I just had to share this one with you: ‘Can there be any greater pleasure,’ she confided in her neighbour, the Canadian Minister for overseas trade, ‘than to come across an author one enjoys and then to find they have written not just one book or two, but at least a dozen?’ (p. 69, Bennett: 2007) I feel like this is particularly appropriate for my newfound appreciation of Alan Bennett.

What are you reading at the moment? Do you have any other books to recommend to me?

(P.S. The image in the banner above is Bookshelf by Kaeros_Stock)

5 thoughts on “What I’m Reading Wednesday

Leave a Reply

