Top 5 Most Anticipated Releases for 2016

(updated header image contains a font by Kimberly Geswein!)

This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

A bit late but here is my list of my Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases for 2016! I found this quite difficult as I obviously need to read more authors, so it’s only my Top 5. I find it quite difficult to get excited about books by an author I haven’t read yet, and usually end up just picking books up in the shop, reading the blurb, and then a few pages.

1. This Census-Taker, China Miéville (12/01/16) 

Here is the summary from Penguin Random House:

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville.

In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries—and fails—to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape. 

When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over.

But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether?

Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity.’ 

While this sounds very different to anything I’ve read from Miéville before, I am intrigued as to where he’ll take the premise. It’s always interesting to read a writer in a different genre.

2. The Hanging Tree, Ben Aaronovitch (16/06/16)

If you’re surprised to see this on here you’re clearly new. Hi!

I am excited for this one after devouring the rest of the series earlier this year, but think I’m going to pace myself as now I’ll have to wait a whole year for the next one!

The Orion Books website says: ‘The Hanging Tree was the Tyburn gallows which stood where Marble Arch stands today. Oxford Street was the last trip of the condemned. Somethings don’t change. The place has a bloody and haunted legacy and now blood has returned to the empty Mayfair mansions of the world’s super-rich. And blood mixed with magic is a job for Peter Grant.’  

So it seems like we may have some appearances from my favourites, as well as yet another interesting aspect of London, but mainly I’m excited to see what questions he answers in this one about the overarching plot.

3. The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 3, Kieron Gillen & co (16/02/16)

I picked up The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 1 from Page 45 the other week after hearing so much about it on Goodreads and seemingly everywhere. I really enjoyed the first volume, so much so I picked up volume 2 with some of my Christmas money (thanks, Nana & Grandad!) a few days ago. I haven’t read it yet but I have a feeling this will be a series I’ll be following  for a long time.

4. Lighter Than My Shadow, Katie Green (18/03/2016)

I was a little surprised to find this on Amazon’s coming soon list as I actually looked at this in Foyles in Birmingham a few days ago. Not sure what’s happened there.

After reading Fun Home by Alison Bechdel at university, which is a graphic memoir, I’ve always wanted to read more memoirs. I actually picked up the sequel, Are You My Mother, a few weeks ago and I’m really looking forward to reading it.
Green’s memoir seems to deal with similarity difficult issues (and may be triggering for some people)  and I thought it would be interesting to see how she writes and illustrates her struggle, which I imagine is very cathartic.

5. The Book of Dust, Philip Pullman (???)

Now this one is kind of optimistic. The Book of Dust is supposed to be a fourth, companion book to His Dark Materials, which in 2014 he hinted the earliest we would get to read it would be 2016. The only mention I’ve found since was in this interview here, which only states he’s writing it (Nov 2015). So it would probably be extraordinary if it came out this year but I can always hope! I especially love that he said ‘As I go, I’m discovering things all the time about Lyra, about daemons, about the whole universe. It’s exciting for me.’ I’ve been really enjoying all the revelations about Harry Potter this year as JK has written more and more in that world, so I’m looking forward to experiencing Pullman possibly doing the same. Fingers crossed!

So there you go! Next week I’ll be talking about my Top Ten Resolutions I Have For 2016, number one being to actually do these on time! I’ll also be posting later on in the week about the books I got for Christmas! 😊 🌲⭐️ (it was a very good haul!)

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Most Anticipated Releases for 2016

Leave a Reply

