Top Ten Resolutions I Have For 2016 

(Look! A shiny new header image – lovely font by Kimberly Geswein!)

This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

I decided to do a mixture of personal resolutions and reading resolutions for this week.

1. Keep up with blogging!

This is the first time I’ve really done a blog and I’ve loved it so far so I’m aiming to keep going with it, expand my weekly posting schedule, and maybe start a BookTube to go with it. If I find some decent editing software that is. And learn how to talk on camera.

2. Read more new authors!

Starting this blog has made me realise how I tend to stick to my favourite authors when reading (but still somehow manage to have a huge pile of books by my bed) so this year I will aim to read more new authors. I’ve also dug out my library card, so I’ll be spending a lot of time there this year! I completed my Goodreads Challenge of reading 55 books last year, so I’m aiming to read 60 books this year – you can track my progress here, and also check out the books I read last year here and on my 50 Books Challenge Page above.

3. Read more classic and contemporary novels

My main reason for joining the 2016 Classics Challenge over at pretty books was because I’ve always wanted to read more widely, and classic literature is such a cultural common ground. I really loved the contemporary novels I read this year, so I’d like to read more of those too as I tend to look at YA and Sci Fi/Fantasy more.

4. Use social media more

While people are probably resolving to use it less, I’ve never been a prolific tweeter. Again since I’ve started this blog I’ve really seen the benefit of it and how great it is to find a community of people with similar interests and experiences. I’ve also realised how much I regret not documenting more, as I have a terrible long term memory.

5. Budgeting

Yay

With working part time and volunteering my finances are very tight and I think keeping track of my expenses and income this year would really be sensible if I’m ever going to move/get a full time position. Though it may be scary at first I know this is an essential skill that I’ll feel better about learning.

6. Pass my driving test

I’ve been having driving lessons every week for over a year now and though it still terrifies me I am nowhere near as scared as I was when I started. My instructor says I’ve done about 2/3rds of the work towards my test so hopefully I’ll be booking it sometime this year. I know once I get used to driving and feel that I can do it, having that freedom will be great.

7. Keep up with drumming!

I’ve been having lessons for about a year now too (I think) and I still love it. I have my own kit now and I really want to keep going with it and learn some more complicated techniques and fills.

8. Read more graphic novels

I’m always so excited to see graphic novels and mixed media fiction and I really want to read more. I could spend hours (and have) in Page 45 and I believe this is probably where any money I manage to save this year will go 😆.

9. Write more!

I’ve gotten out of the habit of writing since graduating and though I joined a few courses to keep my skills up I really need to write more and start sharing it. I have those 645 prompts to try out too!

10. Get more experience this year.

I spent a lot of last year volunteering and gaining experience to help me break into the publishing industry and I loved it, especially volunteering at the first ever Derby Book Festival and being a volunteer again at Oxfam, especially being surrounded by other book addicts. I’m aiming to get more experience this year by volunteering more and applying for more internships and work experience placements, as well as any relevant jobs that come up. Fingers crossed!

So those are my Top Ten Resolutions for 2016 – what are yours? Let me know in the comments below! Next week I’ll be writing about the Top Ten 2015 New Releases I Didn’t Around To.

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Resolutions I Have For 2016 

  1. Drumming? Cool! learning to play the drums sounds like lots of fun! I wish I had stuck with learning the guitar when I was younger. I also want to budget, read classics, and starting reading graphic novels. I think I want the first graphic novel I EVER read to be Fight Club 2 by Chuck Palahniuk. Happy New Year, and Good Luck with your 2016 resolutions! 😀

    Like

  2. I won’t lie: I came here because of that gorgeous font! (And will be downloading it shortly!)

    Classic and sci-fi are two of my most-read genres, so i ‘d be up for discussions on books as you read more of them 🙂 I’m also trying to connect more with people, via commenting and social media; and to that end have added you on twitter and instagram! (You can find me here and here!) I’ve wanted to take drumming lessons for very many years now, but have never found the time/money. I’ve had one in the last… 12 years? Sigh.

    My TTT 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is gorgeous, I’ve downloaded a lot of hers! All her fonts are beautiful.
      Great! I’m not big on classics, hence the challenge, but I look forward to that! I always love hearing other people’s opinions on books. I did just notice you added my on Instagram – thanks! 😊 hopefully I’ll post more now 😆 I have loved drumming, it’s a great stress reliever and my teacher is great. You should try it out when you can! 😊
      I just came from your blog actually! Great list 😊

      Like

    1. I know! I could spend hours looking at graphic novels. I’m planning on using Page 45’s (comic/graphic novel shop in Nottingham) recommendation page for the next few ones I get and seeing if there’s any at my local library.

      Like

  3. Great resolutions! 🙂 I never really used my Twitter account too much until I started my blog this year and I really enjoy using it now. I am hoping to get into graphic novels this year. I have never really read any, so I definitely want to give it a chance! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I barely use mine to be honest but I’ve been enjoying using it more recently. I love graphic novels but I haven’t read many as I never knew where to start or who to read, but they’re amazing. I just finished Ethel and Ernest by Raymond Briggs (He did the Snowman) and it was great, really interesting and emotional.
      I look forward to hearing about the ones you’ve read! Thanks, you too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

