What I’m Reading Wednesday

What Are You Reading Wednesday is hosted by It’s A Reading Thing!

How to participate:
Grab the book you are currently reading and answer three questions:
1. What’s the name of your current read?
2. Go to page 34 in your book or 34% in your eBook and share a couple of sentences.
3. Would you like to live in the world that exists within your book? Why or why not?

This week I’m reading The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde, as part of pretty books 2016 Classics Challenge. Dorian Gray is my book for January, as voted by all you lovely people! I’ve not got very far yet, but I am past page 34.

  1. The Picture of Dorian Gray, Oscar Wilde
  2. ‘Well Harry,’ said the old gentleman, ‘What brings you out so early? I thought you dandies never got up till two, and were not visible till five.’

      ‘Pure family affection, I assure you, Uncle George. I want to get something out of you.’

     ‘Money, I suppose,’ said Lord Fermor, making a wry face. ‘Well, sit down and tell me all about it. Young people, nowadays, imagine that money is everything.’

    ‘Yes,’ murmured Lord Henry, settling his buttonhole in his coat; ‘and when they grow older they know it.’

3. His speech does actually carry on from there, but I thought that was long enough. I don’t think I’d want to live in the world of Dorian Gray, mainly because of the setting in time and so far it’s a bit of a man’s world. More updates to come on this though as I get further through.

What are you reading this week? Are any of you doing the 2016 Classics Challenge too? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

