Top Ten 2015 New Releases I Didn’t Get Around To

(Still love this font by Kimberly Geswein!)

So having looked back on all the new books of 2015 that I didn’t get around to – basically all the ones I picked up in Waterstones at some point that my bank account did not allow me to buy – I’ve realised had I read them I would have had a lot more new to me authors to discuss. Some I also actually own but just didn’t get around to reading 😦

As always this meme is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

1. The Water Knife, Paolo Bacigalupi

9780385352871

I vividly remember seeing this on a trip to Waterstones in Nottingham, holding it in a stack of books for about twenty minutes before deciding that no, I did not need to buy yet another new release hardback and instead buying the next book on this list and the next Peter Grant novel. Good decision financially. Does anyone else wander round bookshops with a stack of ‘denial’ books that then graduates to ‘actually buying’?

Those of you who follow me on Goodreads may have noticed I have been stuck on page 100 of The Windup Girl for I don’t know how long. I love Paolo Bacigalupi’s style, the world he’s created in the Windup Girl is fascinating, I really want to know what happens, but for some reason I just haven’t picked it up.

I saw The Water Knife and thought the cover was beautiful, I was excited to see another book by Bacigalupi, and the premise sounded great, especially as I think I had just read Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel and this also sounds similarly apocalyptic in setting. So I will get around to this at some point (fingers crossed) but I’m aiming to finish The Windup Girl first.

2. Three Moments of An Explosion, China Miéville

220px-three_moments_of_an_explosion_-_stories_uk_cover

You may have noticed that I do actually own this and yes – I am reading it – but I have had it for forever and still not managed to finish it. Again, I love his writing, I’m really on a short story kick at the moment, but for some reason I have just failed to sit down and finish this. Therefore I’m counting it in my ones I didn’t get around to – but I will! I swear! This is the problem you have when you dip in and out of books.

3. Killing and Dying, Adrian Tomine

tomine-killing-and-dying

I had never heard of Adrian Tomine until I was watching one of booksandquill’s  graphic novel hauls, but the cover art and the collection of stories about the ‘about the anxieties of being alive in the twenty-first century’ (Source) in a graphic novel really appealed to me. I actually picked this up at Foyles in Birmingham a few weeks ago on a graphic novel spree (it was discounted, I swear!) but it has since sat looking very pretty on my shelf while I’ve worked my way through other books. (Note to self: Finish the books you already have this year, Rebecca, the new ones aren’t going anywhere.)

4. The Year of the Runaways, Sunjeev Sahota

sunjeev20sahota-the20year20of20the20runaways

I saw this in Oxfam quite a lot last year as a donation and the title has always drawn me in. This isn’t something I would usually read, but I really want to go out of my comfort zone with my reading and the buzz around this book makes me feel like it’s an important book to read, especially considering how relevant it is to the migrant crisis.

5. The Buried Giant, Kazuo Ishiguro

71yatprijgl

Again, I actually own this one as I picked up a copy at the Hay Festival last year (I found my spiritual home, everyone, and this year it finishes on my birthday!), along with a signed copy of Fire Colour One by Jenny Valentine. I love Ishiguro’s writing and I have actually started it but again never finished.

6. Six of Crows, Leigh Bardugo

six-of-crows

I didn’t actually know about this one until I started getting more involved with Goodreads and WordPress, but it seems like everyone has either read this or had this on the TBR already. There’s so much buzz around this book I feel I have to read it. The summary reminds me of the Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch, though I feel that Six of Crows is probably more of a YA novel than Locke Lamora.

7. A Darker Shade of Magic, V. E. Schwab

51ryevqlj9l

I have to admit the cover drew me in (high five, Will Staehle) but this is another one that there’s been so much buzz about on Goodreads and WordPress. I actually downloaded a kindle sample so I’ve read the first few pages and it sounds like a good premise. Also what is it about making alternate Londons? Rivers of London, Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere, Dream London by Tony Ballantyne (though I am never reading that again), and probably a billion more. I want to read a book about an alternate York, or a tiny little english village, or Hull. I should probably write that.

8. Fates and Furies, Lauren Groff

fates2band2bfuries2bcover2bimage

Yet another one that there was a lot of buzz about. I think (yet again) the cover and the premise – the marriage seen from both sides, with alternating perspectives throughout the years – really appealed to me. That was part of what I loved about Gone Girl, even though that puts more emphasis on Amy’s perspective overall (it is the most interesting one, to be fair). I like seeing the affect of the pivoting perspective and it seems like this will also be centred around some morally grey characters.

9. The Wicked and the Divine, Vol. 2, Kieron Gillen

24666002

Now I believe this series has had some quite mixed reviews, but I picked up Volume 1 on a trip to Page 45 a while back, read it when I got home and was immediately disappointed that I hadn’t sprung for the second one. It’s a bit indulgent, to be fair, and an easy read but it did have me hooked quite quickly. This is definitely on my TBR for this year.

10. The Princess and the Pony, Kate Beaton

notfinal_9780545637084

Just look at it. How could I not want to read it.

I believe this was on my Top 11 Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year (gosh that’s a long title. Sorry. I had a FOB moment?) and though I didn’t get it and I haven’t been able to find it in any of my local shops yet, I am determined to get it this year. I must read it! I did pick up Step Aside Pops in Foyles (I had Christmas money, ok?) and it was great. I think if Kate Beaton had taught me history I would have been far more interested in it.

Anyway, those are my Top Ten 2015 New Releases I Didn’t Get Around To! Next week I’ll be talking about my Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR. There will be some crossover I’m afraid! What did you miss out on reading in 2015? Link me to your TTT in the comments!

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten 2015 New Releases I Didn’t Get Around To

  1. I also have Six of Crows on my list. I really hope to read it soon because i’ve only heard amazing things about it. I am a huge Leigh Bardugo fan so that book is definitely a priority for me. Good luck with all your reads!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

