Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t My Typical Genre

This category was a little difficult for me, so it’s only a Top 5. As always, this meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

1. Ethel & Ernest, Raymond Briggs


This isn’t strictly out of my genre, being kind of an autobiographical graphic novel, but it is more historical than I usually read. It follows Raymond’s parents as they grow and age together throughout their relationship. When I first heard of it I thought it sounded like a really interesting concept, and it was such a moving and beautifully told story. You’ll need tissues.

2. Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Truman Capote

This is kind of cheating because I’ve almost read Breakfast at Tiffany’s (I have ten pages left!) but I have really enjoyed it. It’s not been quite what I expected, but I have enjoyed it, and I’m definitely going to watch the film at some point.

3. The Picture of Dorian Gray, Oscar Wilde

I did find it really interesting and  even though it had some elements I didn’t like, I did enjoy reading it.

Check out my review here.

4. The Wrath and the Dawn, Renée Ahdieh 


I did really enjoy reading The Wrath & The Dawn, mainly for the world building and description. However, I thought from the start that the relationship between Sharazad & Khalid would irk me. It had a great dramatic setup that that then moved far too fast for me to feel it was plausible. (And I would have loved for there not to be a love triangle.) I did want to read on however and I will be reading The Rose and the Dagger when it’s released.

5. The Uncommon Reader, Alan Bennett 

I had only read The Lady in the Van before this but I really enjoyed it. It was hilariously witty and kind of heartwarming. I’m hoping to read more Alan Bennett soon.

So there’s my Top 5! What are yours? Next week I’ll be talking about Top Ten Books to Read if You’re In the Mood For _____. What you’re in the mood for, I will have to think of!

Also please vote for my March Classics read here!! 😊

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t My Typical Genre

  1. I’ve never even THOUGHT about reading Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I do like the movie, and would be curious to see how the book compares, especially as Truman Capote seems like such an odd duck. Excited for Wrath and the Dawn! Here’s My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

