Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR

Happy Tuesday!  This week’s topic is my Top Ten Books on my Spring TBR list. I don’t really have one for spring, and more a catch-all 2016 TBR list, so don’t expect these books to be particularly spring themed. Apart from the first book, I’m going to try not to talk about all the books I’m halfway through, or we’ll be here forever – just know they’re also on this list. As always, check out the host of this feature, The Broke and the Bookish.

 

A Gathering of Shadows Final1. A Gathering of Shadows, V.E. Schwab

As you can probably tell I just finished reading A Darker Shade of Magic, and, well, given I’m reading the sequel you can tell how well that went. I think what I mainly enjoyed about it was that I quickly grew to love Kell and Lila, and I think Rhy will be interesting in this sequel given he wasn’t in the first one very much. Also the magic and the world building, though I could have done with a bit more of that if I’m honest, though it’s probably expanded upon here. Fingers crossed that most of this book isn’t Kell getting beaten up every five minutes, but let’s be honest, it probably is.

xuzaabxstldsoofcckov

2. This Census Taker, China Miéville

I’ve been interested by this one ever since it was announced. You’ll probably know I’m a fan of Miéville’s more sprawling sci-fi Bas-Lag novels, as well as some of his stand-alone novels like The City and the City, so I was really intrigued by this one. From what I’ve heard it’s a very different style for him, but he does adapt his writing to other genres very well. I’m excited to see him write in a more pared back, focused style.

Also on my 2016 TBR: Everything by Miéville I haven’t read yet

61woeo8a2fl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

3. Fates and Furies, Lauren Groff

I think what mainly attracted me to this was a) the cover and b) All the comparisons to Gone Girl. I found the unreliable narration and differing perspectives fascinating in Gone Girl and the other book everyone said was the new Gone Girl – The Girl on the Train. I’m interested to see if this is as unputdownable as those two were.

23437156

4. Six of Crows, Leigh Bardugo

Another book that I’m interested in purely because of all the hype. It kind of paid off with reading A Darker Shade of Magic, so let’s see if this one lives up to it too. A friend of mine has reliably and enthusiastically rambled to me about how much she loves it, so fingers crossed.

funny_story_front

5. It’s a Kind of Funny Story, Ned Vizzini

I’m pretty sure this has been mentioned at some point before, but this definitely on my To Be Read list this year. I’ve found it kind of difficult to get hold of a copy though, given that there doesn’t seem to be a kindle version, one hasn’t come into Oxfam yet, and whenever I go to Waterstones I get very distracted by other things.

24489079

6. Cranky Ladies of History, ed. Jansy Rayner Roberts & Jehani Wessely

This was on my Christmas list and I very happily opened it on Christmas morning. For some reason it’s now sat on my bookshelf for the past few months, so this is definitely one I’ll be reading at some point this year.

31h12bfjlo2l-_sy344_bo1204203200_

7. Slaughterhouse-Five, Kurt Vonnegut

I’ve had this sitting on my bookshelf since my final year of uni, when one of my lecturers recommended it to me for research for my final project. Needless to say I probably got about three pages in and then realised I had a billion other books to read for uni, so it’s not been touched since then. I’ll probably slip this in as a Classics Challenge book if I decide not to do a poll.

41ocj6lep0l-_sx316_bo1204203200_

8. The Girl With All the Gifts, M. R. Carey

I picked this up at Oxfam last week, put it back, put it down, put it away, but still bought it. There was some confusion as to whether it’s sci-fi or a thriller, as it was originally in the crime section, but who knows. I’ve seen a few people mention this in posts or around the internet, so I’m interested to see what all the buzz is about.

51pu2bwgixkl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

9. Illuminae, Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

My copy from the wonderful ladies at Just Us Book Blog arrived this week! You probably saw a delighted Instagram post from me if you’re following me on there. This is another one I’ve heard people raving about over the internet, and given that I’m a sucker for any book that tries to do something a little different with the format, I’d thought I’d put in for it in the prize draw.

paolo-bacigalupi-the-windup-girl-book-cover

10. The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi

I know I keep mentioning this one. I will finish reading it this year. I will!

So that was my Top Ten Books on my Spring TBR, most of which I will probably cart with me on my holiday to Cornwall in April. (I read 6 books in a week last year, so fingers crossed.) What do you think? Will you be picking up any of these? Any you’d recommend? I’m also looking to follow more sci-fi book bloggers, preferably not YA sci-fi, so if you are one or know one, comment below!

Next week I’ll be talking about Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough. Which may be difficult as I’m pretty sure I’ve put them in a post at some point, but we shall see.

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR

  1. I looooved Illuminae! It was so cool and set out so differently to other sci fi’s. I’m really excited for the next book. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

    I’ve had Six of Crows on my to be read list for ages now, hopefully you get to it this spring! Did you love Leigh Bardugo’s The Grisha series? I still have to finish the last book in that series to be honest, but only because I kept pushing it back and back and now I’ve kind of forgotten my love for the series as a whole.

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great, I think that’s what attracted me to it as well. Fingers crossed! I haven’t actually read the Grisha series, as everyone seems to be talking about Six of Crows and I hadn’t heard about it until I started this blog. I did the same thing with Eragon, I’ve never finished it, but I’m not sure I really loved it all that much in the first place. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. All of these books are on my lifetime TBR pile. Not this spring, but sometime. Haha. I’m going to read The Martian soon. My dad loves it and the movie. Also, I’d like to read it before I read Sleeping Giants for review. I heard it is a mix between World War Z and The Martian. Great list!
    Take care,
    Katie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

