Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim

This is what working at Oxfam Books gets you.

A bit of a mix of genres and age groups, mainly because I occasionally get bored of whatever genre I’m heavily into at the time. The Girl with All the Gifts, Landline, and A Spool of Blue Thread were all Oxfam finds that I couldn’t ignore. Paper Girls was because I am incapable of not spending a fortune in Page 45 and just look at the cover art! The Shadowhunters Codex was partly because I knew I would need something after I finished Lady Midnight (review coming soon!), and I’m a sucker for a world building manual. The others were just impulse buys that I’d heard of or liked the sound of.

So those were my Top Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim – what are yours? Are you a whim kind of reader, (If not, HOW? Teach me your self control) or do you heavily research a book before you buy it? Let me know in the comments!

 

6 thoughts on “Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim

    1. I love the idea too! I’ve been about halfway through the book for a year or two now though. I keep finding things I want to immediately read. Interesting! I think I pick up a lot of books on a whim, but if there’s something I’ve heard a lot of people rave about, I’m more inclined towards it. Do you read reviews before you pick up a book or just pick up on the general buzz around it? Thanks for commenting!

      Like

      1. Interesting. I don’t think there’s a strict process for me either. I don’t tend to really read reviews, though, I mostly go on what I’ve heard people say is good and what sounds good, depending on the blurb. πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

