Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of 2016

Hi all! Apologies for being inactive recently, but things have been very busy! I’ve had a wonderful few weeks which included my second ever trip to the Hay Festival, which was amazing, and turning 23 (which I was less than excited about but people always make my birthdays better). I’m hoping to have a summary post of my three days at the Hay Festival up soon, if anyone’s interested.

So this week is about my Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of 2016, which I will not say again, summarised below in order of publication. I only got to 9/10 new releases as I got too excited by the 20th of October and just couldn’t go on.

7th of June 2016This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab – I know this doesn’t technically count but  it was only released a few days ago! Reading A Gathering of Shadows really sold me on Schwab, and I have my fingers crossed that her ability to write compelling female characters will spill over in Kate Harker. Fingers crossed.

31st of July 2016Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts I & II, J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne & John Tiffany – I’m so excited, but nervous, but excited. I will probably not get to see the play till next year, and that’s if it’s on (fingers crossed) but of course I have to read whatever extends the canon. (Still waiting for that Marauder’s book, by the way. A short story would do!)

9th of August 2016 (??)The Last Days of New Paris, China Mieville  – Question mark because I’m sure I saw a 2017 release date somewhere, and that one is from Amazon.com, so. You all know I love Mieville and will read anything he writes so this is hardly a surprise.

27th of September 2016Strange the Dreamer, Laini Taylor – I wasn’t that great a fan of Daughter of Smoke and Bone at first – it felt very sappy – but the second book got interesting, and her world-building is always interesting and original, so I’m excited to see what this new world is like.

11th of October 2016Iron Cast, Destiny Soria – ‘It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths those afflicted with the ability to create illusions through art captivate their audience.’ (Source) This is the sentence that sold me. Mainly the illusions, and it seems to be a bit of a mismash of crime and fantasy/magic and we all know how that worked out for me and Ben Aaronovitch. Plus the cover is great, and I want to read more debut authors this year!

13th of October 2016Gemina, Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff – I really enjoyed Illuminae, and there is so much potential for the story to grow, so I’m really excited to see where it goes.

20th of October 2016 – Goldenhand, Garth Nix – I only found out about this today and I AM SO EXCITED. There is no feeling like when one of your favourite writers returns to a series you have loved since childhood and DOES IT SO WELL. (Clariel was amazing. AND LIRAEL’S THE MAIN CHARACTER.)

AND

20th of October 2016The Hanging Tree, Ben Aaronovitch – I will devour this like I devoured the last five. October’s gonna be a great month. Though the release date for this seems to be jumping about a lot, so fingers crossed.

Two of my favourite writers releasing new books on the same day. What will I do with myself. WHICH ONE WILL I READ FIRST?!!?!

15th of NovemberScrappy Little Nobody, Anna Kendrick – This may be a bit surprising for some of you as I know I mainly talk about fiction on here, but I do have a great love of a good biography. I know this is a collection of essays but Anna seems like such a funny/interesting person I think this’ll be a great read.

So that was my Top Nine Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of 2016. Are you as ridiculously excited as I am? Will you be reading any of these? Let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of 2016

Leave a Reply

