Top Ten Recommended Books

So today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Top Ten Recommended Books. I thought I’d talk about Top Ten Recommended Books that I’ve read, rather than ones that people keep recommending to me that I haven’t got around to – it happens a lot!

  1. Six of Crows, Leigh Bardugo – recommended by Laura at Reading Sanctuary – also check out her awesome bookstagram! (She’s got excellent taste. You’re going to see a theme here.)
  2. The Raven Cycle, Maggie Stiefvater – again recommended by Laura and thoroughly recommended by me. I loved the characters and the world she built and I did not want it to end.
  3. All For the Game, Nora Sakavic – a Tumblr recommendation! It was all over my dashboard for weeks so I felt I had to read it, and while it felt a little ridiculous in places I really enjoyed it. (It also has some amazing fan accounts, and I’m always a sucker for fictional character instagrams)
  4. The Fault in Our Stars, John Green –  recommended by Katie from Katastrophique (check out her super pretty instagram too). I have to admit elements of this book irritated me (mostly Augustus) but it has some beautiful and heart-wrenching moments.
  5. A Darker Shade of Magic, V. E. Schwab – another one of Laura’s recommendations but also another one I could not escape in the community, especially here on WordPress. I am so glad I read it and I cannot wait for whatever comes next. (review here) (Gathering of Shadows review here)
  6. Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell – another one of Katie’s recommendations. I love to revisit this book when I’m missing my uni days, and I mainly want to hug everyone in it. Also one of my major weaknesses: books with epic fanart.
  7. Simon vs. The Homosapiens Agenda, Becky Albertalli – a general WordPress community recommendation I’d say. It seemed like everyone was reading this at one point and I did really love it when I got around to it. It also really made me want Oreos. This also had some of my favourite quotes. ‘People really are like house with vast rooms and tiny windows. And maybe it’s a good thing, the way we never stop surprising each other.’ & the incredibly relatable (for me, anyway) ‘But I’m tired of coming out. All I ever do is come out. I try not to change, but I keep changing, in all these tiny ways. I get a girlfriend. I have a beer. And every freaking time, I have to reintroduce myself to the universe all over again.’
  8. The Princess Saves Herself in This One, Amanda Lovelace – Another one that was all over my Tumblr dashboard. I really surprisingly loved this – read why here.
  9. Welcome to Night Vale, Jeffrey Cranor & Joseph Fink – another one of Katie’s recommendations (and one that I also borrowed forever, sorry!). This book was a whole load of crazy interspersed with genuine relatable moments and I loved it. (I’m steadily ploughing my way through the podcast too.)
  10. The Wicked and the Divine, Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie – I think Laura also recommended this to me and I’d seen it about on the internet. I know it’s had some mixed reviews but I’ve really loved it so far and it indulges my fangirl/writer side.

What did you think? Are there any you really love/hate on here? What’s on your list? Let me know in the comments!

 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Recommended Books

  1. I adored Simon Vs., Six of Crows, Fangirl (and Carry On!), TFIOS and anything by Scwab. I could not get into the Raven Cycle, although I also adore The Scorpio Races by the same author. I don’t think I’ve even heard of the others on your list, but based on how many terrific books I recognize, I’m going to go add ALL OF THEM to my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have yet to read A Darker Shade of Magic, but people have been recommending it to me a lot. So yeah maybe I’ll reall go and pick it up soon! The Raven Cycle was also recommended to me (my friend literally borrowed out her books to me and said ‘read them’ XD) and so far I’ve enjoyed the first three books. Currently reading the fourth, which is also great so far!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Seeing “Six of Crows” everywhere this week is making me SUPER happy because I’ve been eyeing it. Guess that’s one I should add to my shopping cart. 🙂 Also, I liked TFIOS WAY better than I thought. Love when books turn out that way.

    Thanks for visiting Finding Wonderland this week! I appreciate it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

